skip to Main Content

A Night for a Fight

Last night both the UFC and Strikeforce ran last night so it was a great night for MMA fans. Lets begin with the UFC, which had the Ultimate Fighter Finale. My favorite fight on the UFC card was the Middleweight bout between Demian Maia and Kendall Grove. I enjoyed the fight because it went all three rounds and it also helped that Maia defeated Grove by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28). And in the Main Event Jonathan Brookins fought Michael Johnson. Brookins was the best fighter in the house this season and it showed in the finale. He looked really impressive in his fight. The end result ended up being Brookins defeating Johnson by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-27) to become the Season 12 Lightweight winner of The Ultimate Fighter.

That was the UFC and I hate to say it but Strikeforce had a better card last night. Here are the results of the card:

-Light Heavyweight bout: Benji Radach vs. Ovince St. Preux
St. Preux defeated Radach by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-26, 30-25).

-Heavyweight bout: Antonio Silva vs Mike Kyle
Silva defeated Kyle by TKO (punches) at 2:49 of round 2.

-Middleweight bout: Robbie Lawler vs. Matt Lindland
Lawler defeated Lindland by KO (punches) at 0:50 of round 1.

-Welterweight bout: Paul Daley vs. Scott Smith
Daley defeated Smith by KO (punch) at 2:09 of round 1.

-Light Heavyweight bout: Dan Henderson vs. Renato Sobral
Henderson defeated Sobral by KO (Punches) at 1:53 of round 1

I was impressed with Strikeforce last night, more then I usually would be. The next event they have coming up is in January and only one bout is in the works and that would be Nick Diaz vs. Jason Miller. There is some bad blood between those two and it should make for a good fight.

The UFC has an event next week and the headliner is the Welterweight Championship bout between Georges St-Pierre (c) and Josh Koscheck. This is another one that’s been brewing for awhile. So stay tuned folks because it could get very interesting in the MMA world this next year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top